Image

Eggs & Couscous

A while back I didn’t have a meal planned and didn’t think I had anything for a meal so I through some couscous, eggs and spinach in a pan, added some seasonings and ate. To my surprise it was pretty good. I have recently tweaked this a bit and it is now my favorite go to meal any time of the day.

Over the weekend I received 400 Calorie Fix Cookbook and am contemplating using this as a basis for my diet. That being said, the recipe I am about to share is based on trying to get the calories in this meal up to 400. (In blue, next to each ingredient is the amount I will do in the future as this is just too much food for me at one time.)

  • 3 eggs (2 eggs)
  • 1c chopped spinach
  • 1c chopped sweet peppers (the small ones you get in a pre-packaged bag)
  • 1/2c couscous (cooked) (1/4c cooked couscous)
  • Cooking spray

Saute the sweet peppers in a pan until starting to tender. Crack eggs directly into pan and scramble. This is where I added onion powder, garlic salt and pepper (my simple taste in spices…lol). Just before they are cooked add the couscous and spinach. Heat through (cook until eggs are to cooked to your preference).

Very simple meal; takes less than 20 minutes to prep and cook. If you like breakfast food any time of the day it is a great meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I have yet to have it for breakfast, lunch has been my experimental time for this recipe.

Oh yeah, here are the calories for the larger portion (tracked via Lose It!):

Calories

Enjoy!

One thought on “Eggs & Couscous

Leave a comment